Personal ponderings from a natural night-owl!

Happy Birthday to ME!

Yes, this is a momentous date because I was born on this date in 1969.  </trumpet fanfare>  And please, when I say I’m 39 this year, DON’T ask me, “How many times?” like someone did at work last week!  I have lived a good full life in my 39 years and don’t intend to wish any of them away any time soon.

Ok…maybe I do wish that all those great years didn’t show on my face.  For years, people would tell me how young I looked and how, someday, I’d appreciate looking so much younger than I was.  It was annoying then and now – even more annoying to discover that they were RIGHT!  I wish people mistook me for someone younger these days.  Advice to all grocery store clerks:  make someone’s day by carding them when they buy alcohol, even if they are nearly twice the legal age and don’t look like they need to be carded.

Take a look at what life was like way back in 1969, according to Wikipedia!  There were, of course, some interesting musical happenings that year, too.

And don’t pay any mind to my husband this week when claims to be SO much younger.  His turn is coming just 8 short days!

Comments on: "Happy Birthday to ME!" (7)

  1. […] some surprises planned, so I am looking forward to a fun day.  More thoughts on this momentous day here. […]

  2. I can’t believe I’m married to someone so old.

  3. Happy Birthday! Hope it is a great one.

  4. Happy Late Birthday! Out of the musical happenings, do you have a favorite?

  5. […] It’s September 16th and I am 39 years young today!  My sweetie made me homemade chocolate-chip-chunky-peanut-butter ice cream plated beautifully on a large peanut butter cookie as a pre-birthday dessert.  Yum!  We are going out to dinner on my birthday and I know the kids have some surprises planned, so I am looking forward to a fun day.  More thoughts on this momentous day here. […]

  6. Hey 1969 was a good year!! I am 39 too and I just have to say this – your only as old as you feel – right ;) Its gonna be a good year and your first 39th birthday. John

  7. John – PPTTHHH

    Melanie – Thanks!

    Selena – I love musical theatre, so I would have to say, “Oklahoma” was my favorite, although I have a hard time thinking of that show opening the same year as Woodstock happened!

    John – My first 39th – and my only! I have EARNED every one of my years and spent too much time wishing I were a grown-up to want to hold too fast to any one year. I knew someone who started counting backward when she was 50 – and she lived to be zero or negative one or something. I can’t see me doing that. I used to think I would shoot for 101, but now I am shooting for 107 so I can live to see the Tricentennial!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

