Personal ponderings from a natural night-owl!

Free Money

I get most of my news from CNN.com. The articles are usually informative, but rarely as immediately useful as this one about finding hidden money. According to the article, there are over $15 million in unredeemed savings bonds, $32 million dollars in unclaimed cash funds, and $133 million in unclaimed pension funds waiting for their owners to claim them.

Who wouldn’t be enthralled with the idea of free money? I clicked on the link for the database of the National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators and entered my dad’s name. And I got a hit from one of his childhood addresses! I forwarded the link to him via email and he took it from there. It turns out that his grandparents left him some stocks and bonds when they died – investments that he knew nothing about.

I found an unclaimed insurance policy payment for my father-in-law, an unclaimed bank dividend for my uncles, and seven unclaimed payments for my aunt – three of them over $100!

So check it out for yourself. And if you find some money you didn’t know you had, remember who sent you there!

Comments on: "Free Money" (1)

  1. Great stuff.
    I just found your blog and love it.
    Look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

