Personal ponderings from a natural night-owl!

Baby, You CAN Drive My Car!

We need to redefine “education” in this country and we need to do it NOW.

Education in the 21st century must NOT emphasize memorization of facts and figures. Back in the 19th century (and even into the early 20th) information was not easily accessible – books were still a cherished sign of wealth – so it made sense for schools to drill facts and figures which might be needed later into children’s heads. Plus, far fewer people were formally educated, so there were fewer people able to personally pass information on to their children.

Society and culture have changed dramatically in the last 100 years. Information is readily available in books, at libraries, and online. Facts don’t need to be memorized, but they DO need to be retrieved efficiently. Education needs teach people how to retrieve the information they need and assimilate it with what they already know. In other words, education needs to teach people how to learn.

I touched on this subject back in August in my blog post titled “Old School Skills” when I argued that though learning to alphabetize is an important foundation skill, being able to look words up in a dictionary isn’t.

Now, I do believe that a certain basic body of factual knowledge is necessary for efficiency. Kids need to quickly recognize by sight commonly used words so they can spend their time comprehending the meaning of the text instead of sounding out. Knowing basic “math facts” quickly allows you the freedom to do more complex math more efficiently. A grasp of a general timeline of basic American and world history helps you see the bigger social picture. These are still “facts” that education should teach.

But over and over again, I interact with adults who rely on their knowledge of facts and have never learned how to learn. The “Taste of Tech” blog has a fantastic entry on this topic.

As an educator, I LOVE teaching people and seeing the virtual cartoon light bulb appear over their heads as they “get it” – that is, when they take a new piece of information, fit it into what they already know, and make it retrievable for them in a new context. But as the “Taste of Tech” blog points out, “If you are writing down step-by-step directions to do things, and blindly following them, you are hopelessly lost in this society. If you cannot do something you’ve never done simply because no one has taken your hand and shown you how to do it, I don’t want you teaching my kids.”

Six weeks ago, I was demonstrating some new software to a small group of people. One person in the group had been using the software for several weeks, had sat with me one-on-one for training, and had attended three other demonstrations in the past two weeks. She asked a very specific and completely off-topic question. So as not to derail the entire group, I mentioned that she could find the answer using the help menu or help icon . This person actually came up to me after the demonstration and asked to be shown the help icon – then tried to write down in her pages of long-hand notes where “help” was.

This person has her own laptop, has been using computers and Microsoft software for years, and was even a long-term school sub and high school teacher – yet she had no idea how to access the help menu. This person does not know how to apply old knowledge to new situations. She does not know how to truly learn.

dodge-charger-rt-2006-20060503040316497.jpgTo me, this is as ridiculous as saying you can’t drive a car because you’ve never driven THIS PARTICULAR car before. Most cars are so similar that 60 seconds of orientation is all you need to be able to drive someone else’s car, because you have a basic body of facts and general knowledge you can apply to this new situation. The key goes in, the ignition is ignited, you shift into drive, and you drive. I can even drive my parent’s 1/2 ton semi truck because the basic principles are the same. Sure, I won’t be as comfortable in an unfamiliar car – just as I’m not as comfortable in a new or different software program – but I know where the steering wheel is, how to work the pedals, and how to use the turn signals.

“The illiterate of the 21st Century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.” — Alvin Toffler

Comments on: "Baby, You CAN Drive My Car!" (9)

  1. Check out this chunk of audio from a presentation made by Will Richardson at the ACTEM Conference last week. I think he hits the nail on the head. (Thanks to Bob Sprankle for recording and sharing it.

  2. Wow! That audio is POWERFUL – especially the last 30 seconds. I had never heard of that website, but of course, I was listening online, so as I listened I went to the site. I did figure out who sponsored the site before Bob told the answer (whew – passed the little literacy test), but in 5 seconds I can name 5 people who couldn’t.

    I think part of the problem is that too many teachers are NOT embracing technology appropriately themselves, so how can they hope to teach kids to use it? People in general – not just educators – are afraid to experiment, tinker with things, and figure them out on their own. This is yet another sad byproduct of the traditional method of education which prizes the right answer above the process of learning.

    I am waiting for the day when I have to tell my daughters NOT to bother memorizing what a teacher tells them to memorize because it is a pointless waste of time. The oldest is in 3rd grade, and I have a feeling it might happen this year, but if we even get to 5th grade before this happens, we still have 7 more years of school to deal with…

  3. You can listen to all of Will Richardson’s presentation on Bob Sprankle’s Bit by Bit site. Or, if you’re a more visual person, you can watch the video of his presentation in PEI earlier this month. Both are worth the hour they’ll take.

  4. […] “dodge charger” in my blog, yet I apparently used a picture of one in my post “Baby, You CAN Drive My Car!” back in October of 2007.  (In case you didn’t know, the General Lee was a dodge […]

  5. Dad Petersen said:

    Excuse me, our truck is 2 tons,not a half ton

  6. I agree. I think we need to start teaching concepts rather than specific problems or applications. My biggest pet peve is the computer teacher (only slightly ahead of classroom teachers), who must have Microsoft Office because “the kids just don’t understand the others”. Forgive me for being a bit inflexible in this one, but isn’t you job to teach kids how to use, umm, computers? We are so busy teaching to tool that we forget the purpose of the tool. The kids don’t care. It’s like saying you need a carpenter’s hammer because you can’t figure out not to take the roofer’s hammer too close to your head or you’ll poke a hole rather than just give yourself a goose bump.
    Maybe we need to change the grading system. It’s very difficult to score and test for “learning” if we’re not all just spouting out the one and only one true answer. We need to define understanding and start teaching that. We need more teachers who are life long learners because they want to be, not because the state demands it to keep a certificate.

  7. […] Hot Here! Ch-ch-ch-ChoicesHow to Make a UnicornWho Am I?Baby, You CAN Drive My Car!Photo […]

  8. […] debate over the so-called “21 century skills,” I’ve argued that we need to change how we learn without enough cogent, eloquent thoughts addressing WHY we needed to make that change.  But […]

  9. HanaPipers said:

    :)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

